Writing is tough

Standard

I had intended on giving you a great short story tonight; a dark tale of a teenage boy playing a deadly game. However, it’s a first draft and as any writer knows, the first draft is filled with a good portion of trash. So, I found several places that need more input and several places that just need to go away. I really could not bring myself to post the monumental pile of junk until I morphed it in to a tiny nugget of gold. Of course, I will never think its gold. I suppose, to remain critical of my own work, I cannot allow myself to think it gold.

Hey, I just thought of something. What are your thoughts on cooperative story telling? I have a few starts that I like, but I cannot think of a single thing to go with them. So, I was thinking of posting them in their own category for you to comment on and add to the story or complete the story or whatever you feel the need to do. Comment on this and let me know what you think.

Thanks for being loyal readers!

2 thoughts on “Writing is tough

  1. chris

    Do you mean having another writer that takes on the roles of other characters and such while you control the overall theme of the story? I have written short stories with others that ended up taking on a life of their own and became greater than I could have imagined.

    • I mean I write the first part, then I am done. You or someone else write the next part. When the story is over, it could be complete junk or an odd work of art. Think of it as a writing prompt, you just fill in the missing information. So what do you think?

Leave a Reply

